Healthy Michelle and the journey to stay that way

One step at a time

Aachoo! OWWWWW!!!

on August 21, 2013

This is the story of how 3 sneezes ruined my morning.

As I was getting ready to make my breakfast this morning, and pre-allergy pill, I sneezed. Doesn’t sound like a big deal, right? But with this stupid back of mine a sneeze is a big, painful deal. Usually I curl one leg up to my chest to protect myself and it doesn’t hurt so bad, but this morning I didn’t get the chance. The feeling was horrendous: shooting pain radiating around my lower back. Then I sneezed again, and again. It doesn’t last long, but the pain lingers for hours afterwards.

I had planned on going swimming this morning and that got immediately scrapped. Although they say swimming is a great low-impact exercise for people with back problems I can’t do it in the middle of a flare up. Having to keep a tight core and kick from the hip means more pain than gain, unfortunately. I’m actually really disappointed because I was looking forward to getting in a few more swims before we move.

Today is my appointment with the chiro, so I’ll definitely mention this to him. I really hope he can fix me, whether with an adjustment, muscle manipulation or physio exercises because this is getting to be too frequent and too long lasting. Initially it was once or twice a year I’d hurt and it would last a couple of days. Now that I’m more active it is every couple of months and lasting nearly a week each time. I’ve still not been able to exercise (except riding my bike to work) since the try-a-tri 2 weekends ago and that’s just not cool. I’m noticing the effects of not exercising (bad eating habits, fatigue, grumpiness) but some days even going for a walk is too scary because I’m afraid I’ll hurt it more. Like I said, I hope I can get a solution today!

In un-related news the packing is going well. Marc and I have packed nearly all the things we can do ahead of time. We have 10 days until the move so we’re not ready to do things like all the clothes and dishes etc, which is mainly what is left. We’re at a wedding out of town this weekend so the bulk of it will have to be done after work this week and next. Thankfully we decided to hire movers with the profit from selling our AC and money our landlord gave us for showing the apartment because I was really worried about hurting myself. Turns out Marc was too since he told me part of the reason he took vacation after the move was because he assumed he’d likely hurt himself carrying all the furniture. So I’m very glad we got movers for the good price that we did.

I’ll keep you posted on how the chiro goes…kinda nervous but I’m sure it will be fine!

Have any of you been to a chiro before? Or have low back pain? Any suggestions?


Leave a comment