Healthy Michelle and the journey to stay that way

One step at a time

MRI results and a plan going forwards

on March 12, 2016

Here’s the coles notes version of what happened with the MRI results and the appointment with the sports medicine Dr TT. Special thanks to SB for coming to the appointment with me – I needed that hug afterwards!

Compared to the previous MRI nothing is significantly different but the slight changes are able to explain the difference in pain that I have been experiencing fairly consistently since November and constantly for the last month.

I still have bulging of 3 discs in my spine which is compressing the sac that holds the spinal cord. Pain comes from that and from it touching other nerves that come off the sides like tree branches (called nerve roots). One of those controls the sensation down the leg, which is why my right leg always hurts.

flat spine

Imagine a squishy disc on top of that light beige vertebra pushing onto the spine area and the nerves on each side. Like a donut that you gently push on and it flattens and gets bigger

There is nothing OMG needs to be dealt with now and nothing that screams surgery. I was hoping that surgery would be the holy grail for getting rid of my pain and unfortunately it doesn’t seem like that will be the case.

The pain is something that needs to be under better control because this isn’t going to go away any time soon. I may have better days and worse days but it isn’t something that “gets better” and fully goes away. I have been in significant daily pain for the last month which is the longest flare up that I have had.

My file is sent to a surgeon so I can meet with him (who knows how long that will take) and to an anesthesiologist because we are going to try a “walking epidural” which is cortisone in the spine to help with the pain for hopefully long periods of time. Also have a cocktail of meds for the symptoms: naproxen, tylenol, pain meds, muscle relaxant, stomach protector etc.

Fun fact: the pharmacist now knows me by name since I’m in there about every week or 2 since nothing is on the same schedule for repeats!

 

IMG_1813.JPG

This is about 1/3 of what I take in a day, between the pain meds, anti-inflammatories, muscle relaxants, and assorted other meds and vitamins. Good thing that I learned to swallow pills in my teens.

I called the surgeon and because I’m a previous patient I was able to book a follow up appointment in mid April. Now I just have to be sure that they collate the records under my new name with the ones under my old name!

A quick call to the pain clinic/anesthesiologist revealed that files are triaged for priority but the wait is up to 6-8 months. MONTHS. It is hard to believe that they expect people who are in significant pain to wait half a year to get a potential long term pain management program. From the questions I was asked by the receptionist I would also be triaged low because I am able to walk right now.

I did some research and found that there are private pain clinics in Ottawa that also have super long wait lists, however there is a sister clinic in Toronto with a wait list of 3-4 weeks for an initial consultation. I’ve spent this morning preparing the referral form and a history/meds list to bring to the sports med doc so I can ask for a referral to the Toronto clinic.

Husband and I are VERY lucky that when I mentioned going to Toronto we both said “do it.” There was no discussion of cost or time commitment. We are thankfully able to do what needs to be done thanks to very supportive employers and a healthy emergency fund for unexpected expenses. I couldn’t imagine if my only choice was to wait here in Ottawa (though I’m not guaranteed that the Dr will send me to Toronto).

For now I’m continuing with physio, personal training, and medications. We’ve added to the list a muscle relaxant which seems to be helping but makes me completely exhausted. It will be another challenge to manage getting 3 doses of that into the schedule without becoming a total zombie.

Hopefully this helps to explain what’s been going on lately. It has definitely thrown a wrench into life lately but we’re working on getting back to something normal. Feel free to ask questions if you’ve got any. I’m happy to explain – it is what I’m good at!


Leave a comment